Skip to main content

Winston Churchill Memorial Trust 2022 fellowships and their reports

2022 Winston Churchill Fellowship Recipients

Amanda Young-Hauser (Whaingaroa Raglan): To investigate if the United Kingdom Circles of Support and Accountability model to reintegrate men into the community after serving a prison sentence for sexually abusing children, can be culturally adapted and established to work successfully in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Amio Matenga Ikihele (Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland): To explore how digital health equity is being addressed in underserved communities in the USA to inform the development of a digital health ecosystem that aims to ensure future healthcare using digital health technologies are culturally acceptable and equitable for Pacific communities.

Eleanor Cater (Porirua): To study the growth of community philanthropy foundations in the United Kingdom to inform strategies to grow community philanthropic foundation investment in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Jessica Lennon (Te Papaioea Palmerston North): To explore diabetic education practice and the implementation of diabetic foot care programmes in vulnerable communities in the USA and Canada, and their adaptability to the New Zealand environment.

Josh Irvine (Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland): To investigate water management practice challenges and innovative solutions and thinking in the USA and Scandinavia that can be adapted to the New Zealand environment for better water quantity and quality outcomes.

Katharine Watson (Ōtautahi Christchurch): To study physical and digital archaeological repositories in England and the USA to see how they operate and talk to the people who run them, to learn how best to establish and run an archaeological repository, and apply this knowledge in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Pietra Brettkelly (Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland): To investigate film production frameworks that shift the power imbalance that sometimes exists between filmmakers and subjects over Intellectual Property, Story Sovereignty and the Financials of a film production.

Rebekah Graham (Kirikiriroa Hamilton): To investigate/research parent-led programmes by community groups that are being implemented for parents of blind, deafblind, low vision or vision-impaired young people, and which result in positive, abuse-free, neglect-free lives for the disabled young person and/or increased employment for blind youth assess how they might be reworked to fit within New Zealand’s unique cultural context.

Tania Sawicki Mead (Te Whanganui-a-Tara Wellington): To explore the impact of voting rights at 16 years old, and school based civics education in Scotland, Wales, and Austria, on young people's democratic participation and youth wellbeing, to inform debate in New Zealand about lowering the voting age and extending civics education in Aotearoa New Zealand schools.

2022 Winston Churchill McNeish Writers’ Fellowship Recipient

Kathryn van Beek (Kōpūtai Port Chalmers): Participation in a Writers' Residency in Hungary.