Skip to main content

The Department of Internal Affairs: Community Operations 
Oterewa House 
45 Yarrow Street 

  • Phone: (03) 479 6515 or Freephone: 0800 824 824 (Monday to Thursday 8:30am-5pm, Friday 9am-5pm)
  • Post: PO Box 501, INVERCARGILL 9840 
  • Courier: Oterewa House, 45 Yarrow Street, INVERCARGILL 9810


Staff contacts

Staff in the Otago/Southland teams each cover a specific area. These staff members, the areas that they cover, and their contact details are listed below:

Juanita Thornton
Community Advisor (Invercargill/Eastern & Southern Southland/Stewart Island)
(03) 218 0703 /

Garry Lay
Community Advisor (Invercargill & Bluff/Central & Northern Southland)
(03) 218 0701 /

Sheryl Henry
Community Advisor (Invercargill/Western Southland)
(03) 218 0702 /

Marten Schievink
Manager Regional Services (Otago/Southland)
(03)479 6511 /


The Invercargill Community Operations team administers and supports the Lottery Otago Southland Community Committee and also the Southland COGS committee, which serves local communities and neighbourhoods of Invercargill, Southland and Gore districts. 

The Invercargill team also administers the Support for Volunteering Fund and the Community Internship Programme - these Schemes are available for community organisations around the country.

Related Articles