Helping New Zealand build strong communities


How does COGS work?

The Community Organisation Grants Scheme (COGS) provides government funding to support voluntary and non-profit community organisations.

The Department of Internal Affairs administers the scheme and supports the National COGS Committee (NCC), the elected governing body for the scheme.

Requests for grants are assessed and decided by elected volunteers on 37 local COGS committees. There is one funding round for COGS each year. All 37 COGS committees have the same closing date for funding.

Communities set local outcomes

Public meetings are held before the COGS funding round opens each year. These meetings are an opportunity for organisations to contribute to setting the priority outcomes for COGS funding in their local community and to meet the local committee that makes the decisions on their COGS grant requests. All community organisations are encouraged to attend. Community participation in public meetings helps ensure COGS decision-making is community-driven and supports a range of community needs. Remaining dates for 2017 public meetings.

Grant decisions are based on the funds available and how each request is likely to contibute to achieving benefits and outcomes for local communities, hapū and iwi. The COGS Profile  shows more on how COGS works and benefits communities, hapū and iwi.

Most local COGS committees have seven members, who share a broad knowledge of their community. They are able to make shared decisions, and have experience of financial and/or management systems. They also have a general understanding of tikanga Māori and the Treaty of Waitangi.

Training is provided for the volunteers who serve on local COGS committees.

Electing local COGS committees

Elections for COGS committees are held every three years. Committee members are elected for a three-year term, and may not serve for more than two terms in a row.

There is a new approach for this year’s COGS election.

Election timeline

  • 1 February 2017       Nominations open
  • 1 March 2017           Nominations close
  • 31 March 2017         Voting opens
  • 18 April 2017           Voting closes
  • 24 April 2017           Candidates advised and results announced

Election process

Non-profit organisations that have provided services for six months or more in the area served by a COGS committee may nominate local people and/or vote in the elections for that COGS Committee. For more information about the election process in 2017, go to:

Electing COGS committee members

2017 COGS public meetings

Local community organisations will have received an email with information about the meeting dates, times and venuew for 2017 COGS public meetings, with information about voting online this year for local COGS committee members. The last few meetings are happening as follows:

COGS   Committee

Meeting   Date




Tuesday 28 March 2017

10.30 am

Mt Roskill War Memorial Hall (Anzac Room) 13 May Road, Mt Roskill, Auckland


Friday 31 March 2017

11.00 am

Waiheke Resource Trust Sustainability Centre, Mako Street, Oneroa, Waiheke Island

Coastal Ōtago/Waitaki

Wednesday 29 March 2017


Age Concern, 9 The Octagon, Dunedin


Wednesday 29 March 2017

6.30 pm

Cross Recreation Centre, 18 Glasgow Street, Balclutha


Friday 31 March 2017

5.30 pm

The Scottish Hall, 10 Tyne Street, Oamaru

Hutt Valley

Thursday 30 March 2017


Knox Presbyterian Church, 574 High Street, Lower Hutt


Tuesday 28 March 2017

2.00 pm

Order of St John Hall, 33 Bowen St, Feilding


Wednesday 29 March 2017

2.00 pm

Memorial Hall, Cnr Queen St and Chamberlain St, Levin


Thursday 30 March 2017

2.00 pm

Opotiki Museum, 123 Church Street, Opotiki


Thursday 30 March 2017

5.30 pm

Eastbay REAP, 21 Pyne Street, Whakatane


Tuesday 4 April 2017

2.00 pm

Community House, Level 1, 60 Ridgeway Street, Whanganui


Wednesday 5 April 2017

2.00 pm

St Johns Hall, 403 Wellington Road, Marton


Thursday 6 April 2017

4.00 pm

The Peaks Motor Inn, Conference Room, Cnr Mangawhero Tce and Shannon Street,   Ohakune